Borodino Battlefield

Museum and Reserve
Branding, Corporate Design

Not for nothing has the war of 1812 become known in history books as the Patriotic War. All Russian people rose to fight the enemy. The major battle of this war was fought near the village of Borodino. During this battle the Russian army showed courage and valor, forcing the French to withdraw to their original positions, although before that the French army seemed invincible.

Task

In order to immortalize the memory of this great deed, a memorial museum complex was created on the Borodino battlefield. Our task was to develop a new corporate identity for the museum. The final style solution should reflect the significance of the complex in the history of Russia.

Logo

Working on the project, we conducted a series of in-depth interviews with museum staff and Borodino residents. We found out about the images, they associated with the Borodino battlefield, and formed a semantic cloud from those associations.

The public opinion research helped to find the right image — the monument to Mikhail Kutuzov, designed by Pavel Vorontsov-Velyaminov, which is installed in the centre of Gorki village. The commander’s main observation point was located there, on the hill. He led the battle from that point. This monument became the basis of the museum's logo.

An eagle with spread wing is put on the top of the obelisk. A laurel wreath, being a symbol of victory and glory, is clenched in its claws. It is believed that the eagle flew over Kutuzov on the day of the battle. It was interpreted as an omen of success in the battle. The commander saw this as a symbol of possible victory and saluted the eagle by removing his hat.

Additional elements

This part of the project required diving into the history of the Patriotic War of 1812 to study the key personalities of the Borodino battle. As a result, we created additional corporate identity elements. They are made in the technique of engraving. With roughness, texture and strokes, characteristic of this technique, it adds depth to the portraits of commanders and revives the battle scenes.

The key colours in the design of communication elements are shades of green and brown, resembling grass and earth.

Бородинское поле

Музей-заповедник
Брендинг, Корпоративный дизайн

Война 1812 года не случайно вошла в историю как Отечественная, ведь на битву с врагом поднялся весь русский народ. Генеральным сражением в этой войне стала битва при селе Бородино. В ней русская армия продемонстрировала мужество и доблесть, и вынудила французов отойти на исходные позиции, хотя до этого французская армия казалась непобедимой.

Задача

На этом самом Бородинском поле был создан мемориально-музейный комплекс, чтобы увековечить память о великом подвиге. Нашей задачей была разработка нового фирменного стиля музея. Подойти к ее решению нужно было таким образом, чтобы через итоговое стилевое решение считывалась историческая значимость комплекса в истории России.

Логотип

Работая над проектом, мы провели ряд глубинных интервью с сотрудниками музея и жителями село Бородино. Выяснили, с какими образами они соотносят Бородинское поле, и из этого определили для себя смысловое «облако» из ассоциаций.

Изучение общественного мнения помогло найти тот самый образ — им стал памятник М. И. Кутузову по проекту П.А. Воронцова-Вельяминова, который установлен в центре деревни Горки. Там, на холме, находился главный наблюдательный пункт полководца, откуда он руководил ходом сражения. Этот памятник и стал основой логотипа музея.

На вершине обелиска распростер крылья орел. Его когти сжимают лавровый венок — символ победы и славы. Считается, что орел летал над Кутузовым и в день битвы. Это было истолковано как предзнаменование успехов в бою — командующий увидел в этом символ возможной победы и приветствовал орла, сняв шляпу.

Дополнительные элементы

Отдельный блок работ был связан с погружением в историю Отечественной войны 1812 года и изучением ключевых фигур Бородинского сражения. После этого были продуманы дополнительные элементы фирменного стиля — они выполнены в технике гравюры. Это придает глубину портретам полководцев и оживляет сцены сражения за счет характерных для стиля шероховатостей, рельефа и штрихов.

Ключевыми цветами для оформления элементов коммуникации были выбраны оттенки зеленого и коричневого — травы и земли.