Bread Crumbs

Branding, Corporate Design, Naming

We received a request from a bread manufacturer who was launching a network of bakery cafes in St. Petersburg. Our task was to develop a brand that would not only sell bread, but also draw attention to coffee shop products — croissants, muffins, donuts.

Concept

This is a cozy place near your house where you can buy bread and chat with friends and neighbours. We wanted people to call in for bread and stay for a cup of coffee, because this bakery cafe is so cozy and friendly.

Brand Name

The first consistent pattern that we observed during the competitor analysis is that the names of cafes and bakeries are somewhat similar, even generic. On the one hand, we wanted the name to remain clear to the brand's audience, but on the other hand, the brand has to stand out from its competitors. Among the concepts that we proposed was the name “Bread Crumbs”.

This name has several meanings. Bread crumbs are what is left of bread that a large family has just eaten for dinner. They are what is left after a good feast with friends. This is the bread you want to eat up to the last crumb.

On the other hand, the name makes you smile due to its playfulness. We added a new tint to the set expression “bread crumbs”. The word "crumbs" in Russian is used to denote cute babies. Naive, friendly and sweet. For Bread Crumbs we created brand mascots — each communicates with its target audience segment in its own language.

Corporate Identity

The main brand colours are mouth-watering shades associated with baking. These are shades of brown, mellow yellow, pink. As accents we used colours that are associated with donut glaze or muffin fudge — light blue, pink, mint, green.

Logo

The target audience of bread is very broad. Therefore, our communication should not be uniform. This product is so essential for our diet that it seemed inappropriate for us to single out only one audience group.

We developed ten Bread Crumbs characters, each speaking about its own product. If it is a croissant, the character would speak about coffee. If it is a baguette, it goes about breakfast in bed. If it is a slice of rye bread, it speaks about delicious borscht for lunch. So the brand mascots communicate each with their own audience.

Composition and lettering of the logo express movement as bread is what you need to sell quickly and buy while it is fresh. Soft asymmetrical letter lines evoke associations with fresh bread: tasty, rounded, but not perfectly smooth.

Хлебные крошки

Брендинг, Корпоративный дизайн, Нейминг

К нам обратился производитель хлеба, который запускал сеть булочных с кафе в Санкт-Петербурге. Перед нами стояла задача разработать бренд, который не только помог бы продавать хлеб, но и привлекал бы внимание продукции зоны кафе — круассанам, маффинам, доннатсам.

Концепция

Это уютное место рядом с домом, где вы можете купить хлеб и пообщаться со знакомыми и соседями. Мы хотели, чтобы люди заходили за хлебом, но оставались на кружечку кофе, потому что в этой булочной уютно и атмосферно.

Имя бренда

Первая закономерность, с которой мы столкнулись при исследовании конкурентов — названия кафе и пекарен, которые специализируются на выпечке, достаточно однотипны и очень схожи. С одной стороны, мы хотели остаться понятными для аудитории бренда, но должны были выделяться среди конкурентов. Одна из концепций, которую мы предложили, стало имя «Хлебные крошки».

У этого имени несколько значений. Хлебные крошки — это то, что остается от хлеба, который только что за ужином съела большая семья. Это последствия хорошего застолья с друзьями. Это хлеб, который хочется доедать до последней крошки.

С другой стороны, название вызывает улыбку своей игривостью. Устоявшемуся выражению «хлебные крошки» мы дали новую окраску. Ведь слово «крошки» — это еще и веселые малютки. Наивные, доброжелательные и гостеприимные. Мы создали для «Хлебных крошек» героев бренда, каждый из которых общается со своей целевой аудиторией на своем языке.

Фирменный стиль

Основными фирменными цветами стали «аппетитные», ассоциирующиеся с выпечкой оттенки. Оттенки коричневого, нежно-желтого, розового. Акцентными стали цвета, которые ассоциируются с глазурью на доннатсе, помадкой на маффине — голубой, розовый, мятный, зеленый.

Логотип

Целевая аудитория такой продукции как хлеб — очень широкая. Поэтому наша коммуникация не должна быть однообразной. Это настолько важный для нашего рациона продукт, что выделять только одну аудиторию нам показалось неуместным.

Мы разработали десять героев-Хлебных крошек, которые говорят каждый о своем: если это круассан, то он говорит о кофе, если багет — о завтраке в постель, если кусочек черного хлеба — о вкусном борще на обед. Так герои бренда коммуницируют каждый со своей аудиторией.

В композиции и шрифтовом начертании логотипа заложено движение так как хлеб — это то, что нужно быстро успеть продать и купить пока он свежий. Плавные, но несимметричные линии букв вызывают ассоциации со свежим хлебом: вкусным, округлым, но не идеально ровным.